UMCS today

Decisions made by the government in 1948-1949 influenced organisational aspects of UMCS. In 1949 the Faculty of Law was established and in 1950 the Faculty of Medicine and the Faculty of Pharmaceutical science were separated to create Medical Academy (today: Medical University). In 1952 the Faculty of Mathematics and Natural Sciences split into the Faculty of Mathematics, Physics, and Chemistry, and the Faculty of Biology and Earth Sciences. Faculty of Humanist Sciences was opened in the same year and Faculty of Zootechnics was established in 1953. In order to open Higher School of Agriculture (today: University of Natural Sciences) further faculties were separated from UMCS in 1955: Faculty of Agriculture, Faculty of Veterinary Science, and Faculty of Zootechnics. In 1965 Faculty of Economy was established.